Skip to main content

50 Greatest Vikings

2024 DIGI - Legends Hub-Headers_Legends

As part of the final celebration of the Minnesota Vikings 50th season, the team unveiled the 50 Greatest Vikings during the "Minnesota Vikings: Celebrating 50 Seasons" event on December 19, 2021. The live event at the Minneapolis Convention Center included appearances by more than 45 of the final 50, making it the largest collection of former Vikings players under one roof.

The 50 Greatest Vikings list includes nine members of the team's last outdoor home game (Matt Blair, Bud Grant, Tim Irwin, Tommy Kramer, Ahmad Rashad, Jeff Siemon, Scott Studwell, Sammy White, and Ron Yary), which took place on December 20, 1981 – 29 years to the date of the Vikings outdoor home game at TCF Bank Stadium on Monday, December 20, 2010 against the Chicago Bears.

Below you'll find the 50 players who comprise the 50 Greatest Vikings.

Grady Alderman, T, 1961-74

Jared Allen, DE, 2008-present

Matt Birk, C, 1998-2008

Matt Blair, LB, 1974-1985

Bill Brown, RB, 1962-74

Joey Browner, S, 1983-91

Bobby Bryant, CB, 1967-80

Anthony Carter, WR, 1985-93

Cris Carter, WR, 1990-01

Fred Cox, K, 1963-77

Daunte Culpepper, QB, 1999-2005

Chris Doleman, DE, 1985-93, '99

Carl Eller, DE, 1964-78

Chuck Foreman, RB, 1973-79

John Gilliam, WR, 1972-75

Bud Grant, Head Coach, 1967-83, '85

Wally Hilgenberg, LB, 1968-79

Steve Hutchinson, G, 2006-present

Tim Irwin, T, 1981-93

Steve Jordan, TE, 1982-94

Tommy Kramer, QB, 1977-89

Paul Krause, S, 1968-79

Gary Larsen, DT, 1965-74

Carl Lee, CB, 1983-93

Jim Marshall, DE, 1961-79

Randall McDaniel, G, 1988-99

Keith Millard, DT, 1985-91

Randy Moss, WR, 1998-2004, '10

Dave Osborn, RB, 1965-75

Alan Page, DT, 1967-78

Adrian Peterson, RB, 2007-present

John Randle, DT, 1990-2000

Ahmad Rashad, WR, 1976-82

Ed Sharockman, CB, 1962-72

Jeff Siemon, LB, 1972-82

Robert Smith, RB, 1993-2000

Scott Studwell, LB, 1977-90

Doug Sutherland, DT, 1971-81

Fran Tarkenton, QB, 1961-66, '72-78

Henry Thomas, DT, 1987-94

Mick Tingelhoff, C, 1962-78

Stu Voigt, TE, 1970-80

Gene Washington, WR, 1967-72

Ed White, G, 1969-77

Sammy White, WR, 1978-86

Kevin Williams, DT, 2003-present

Antoine Winfield, CB, 2004-present

Roy Winston, LB, 1962-76

Ron Yary, T, 1968-81

Gary Zimmerman, T, 1986-92