Skip to main content

News | Minnesota Vikings –

Teddy Bridgewater and Anthony Barr Selected To The Pro Bowl

Eden Prairie, MN (January 25, 2016) – Minnesota Vikings LB Anthony Barrand QB Teddy Bridgewaterhave both been named to their first Pro Bowl after contributing to the Vikings first NFC North title since 2009. 

The duo enjoyed successful seasons in the NFL after being selected in the 1st round of the 2014 NFL Draft. They become the 4th and 5th Vikings to be named to the Pro Bowl this season, joining RB Adrian Peterson, DE Everson Griffen and S Harrison Smith. The 5 Viking Pro Bowlers are the most since 2012 when the club sent 7 players to Hawaii. It also marks 11 different Vikings drafted by GM Rick Spielman to earn a combined 17 Pro Bowls.

The 9th overall pick in the 2014 NFL Draft, Barr totaled 68 tackles, 3.5 sacks, 1 INT, 8 QBHs, 4 TFLs, 3 FF and 7 PDs in his second year. He was key member of the NFL's 5th-ranked defense that allowed 18.9 points per game.

Bridgewater, the 32nd overall pick, helped the Vikings to an 11-5 record in his first season as a full-time starter. The former Louisville Cardinal finished with a 65.3 completion pct. and threw for 3,231 yards and 14 touchdowns. He became the 2nd Vikings quarterback in franchise history (QB Fran Tarkenton) to register 4 passing touchdowns and 1 rushing touchdown in a game after his 5-touchdown performance vs. Chicago (12/20). 

Barr replaces Patriots LB Jamie Collins, while Bridgewater will replace Cardinals QB Carson Palmer, both of whom are sidelined due to injury.

7 - Adrian Peterson (2007-10, '12, '13, 15)
1 - Sidney Rice (2009)
1 - Percy Harvin (2009)
1 - Kyle Rudolph (2012)
1 - Blair Walsh (2012)  
1 - Matt Kalil (2012)
1 - Cordarrelle Patterson (2013)
1 - Everson Griffen (2015)
1 - Harrison Smith (2015)
1 - Anthony Barr (2015)
1 - Teddy Bridgewater (2015)

This article has been reproduced in a new format and may be missing content or contain faulty links. Please use the Contact Us link in our site footer to report an issue.