Skip to main content

News | Minnesota Vikings –

Brett Favre, Andersen, Dungy Among 2016 HOF Finalists

Brett Favre is in his first year of eligibility for the Pro Football Hall of Fame and has made it to the final round.

Favre will be among the 15 Modern-Era Finalists who will be considered for election to the Pro Football Hall of Fame on the eve of Super Bowl 50.

The 15 finalists have been reduced from an initial list of 108 nominees. The list of nominees was reduced to 25 semifinalists in November.

Favre closed his career 20-season career with two years in Minnesota and led the Vikings to the 2009 NFC North crown and the NFC Championship game.

In addition to Favre, Alan Faneca and Terrell Owens also made it to the final round in their first year of eligibility. Of the 295 players enshrined, 23 are quarterbacks, and 11 were inducted in their first year of eligibility.

Favre is one of three finalists who spent part of their careers with the Vikings, joining kicker Morten Andersen and former Vikings defensive coordinator Tony Dungy, who starred collegiately at the University of Minnesota.

The list of 2016 Modern-Era Finalists follows:

Morten Andersen, Kicker – 1982-1994 New Orleans Saints, 1995-2000, 2006-07 Atlanta Falcons, 2001 New York Giants, 2002-03 Kansas City Chiefs, 2004 Minnesota Vikings

Steve Atwater, Safety – 1989-1998 Denver Broncos, 1999 New York Jets

Don Coryell, Coach – 1973-77 St. Louis Cardinals, 1978-1986 San Diego Chargers

Terrell Davis, Running Back – 1995-2001 Denver Broncos

Tony Dungy, Coach – 1996-2001 Tampa Bay Buccaneers, 2002-08 Indianapolis Colts

Alan Faneca, Guard – 1998-2007 Pittsburgh Steelers, 2008-09 New York Jets, 2010 Arizona Cardinals

Brett Favre, Quarterback – 1991 Atlanta Falcons, 1992-2007 Green Bay Packers, 2008 New York Jets, 2009-2010 Minnesota Vikings

Kevin Greene, Linebacker/Defensive End – 1985-1992 Los Angeles Rams, 1993-95 Pittsburgh Steelers, 1996, 1998-99 Carolina Panthers, 1997 San Francisco 49ers

Marvin Harrison, Wide Receiver – 1996-2008 Indianapolis Colts

Joe Jacoby, Tackle –1981-1993 Washington Redskins

Edgerrin James, Running Back – 1999-2005 Indianapolis Colts, 2006-08 Arizona Cardinals, 2009 Seattle Seahawks

John Lynch, Free Safety – 1993-2003 Tampa Bay Buccaneers, 2004-07 Denver Broncos

Terrell Owens, Wide Receiver – 1996-2003 San Francisco 49ers, 2004-05 Philadelphia Eagles, 2006-08 Dallas Cowboys, 2009 Buffalo Bills, 2010 Cincinnati Bengals

Orlando Pace, Tackle – 1997-2008 St. Louis Rams, 2009 Chicago Bears

Kurt Warner, Quarterback – 1998-2003 St. Louis Rams, 2004 New York Giants, 2005-09 Arizona Cardinals 

Senior Finalists

The 15 Modern-Era Finalists join three other finalists to comprise 18 finalists under consideration for the Pro Football Hall of Fame's Class of 2016.

Two Senior Finalists were announced in August 2015 by the Seniors Committee that reviews the qualifications of those players whose careers ended more than 25 years ago.

Ken Stabler, Quarterback – 1970-1979 Oakland Raiders, 1980-1981 Houston Oilers, 1982-1984 New Orleans Saints

Dick Stanfel, Guard – 1952-55 Detroit Lions, 1956-58 Washington Redskins

A Contributor Finalist announced in September was selected by the Hall of Fame's Contributor Committee that considers persons who made outstanding contributions to professional football other than players and coaches.  

Edward DeBartolo, Jr., Owner – 1977-2000 San Francisco 49ers

About the Pro Football Hall of Fame

Located in Canton, Ohio, the birthplace of the National Football League, the Pro Football Hall of Fame's Mission is to Honor the Heroes of the Game, Preserve its History, Promote its Values, & Celebrate Excellence EVERYWHERE.

Hundreds of thousands of fans from across the globe travel to Canton annually to experience the exciting museum that chronicles America's most popular sport. Millions more are reached through the Hall of Fame's 100-plus special events held annually outside Canton and through the multiple nationally broadcast programs focused on the selection of the newest Class of Enshrinees and the Enshrinement Weekend. This year, the NFL's Road to Super Bowl 50 began in Canton during the 2015 Enshrinement Weekend and will continue through the election of the Hall's new class of enshrinees on the eve of the Super Bowl in San Francisco. Now in its third year of traveling, Gridiron Glory: The Best of the Pro Football Hall of Fame is a large-scale traveling exhibition that presents a panoramic view of pro football's story and includes hundreds of artifacts from the Hall's expansive collection. Gridiron Glory will be showcased at the Triton Museum of Art in Santa Clara, Calif., site of Super Bowl 50, from Jan. 18 – April 3, 2016 and is scheduled for three-month stays at various museums and cultural institutions through 2019. Enshrinees from the Class of 2015 along with numerous other Hall of Fame members received the spectacular Hall of Fame Ring of Excellence by Kay® Jewelers during ceremonies held in NFL stadiums during 13 of the 17 weeks of the 2015 NFL regular season. The Hometown Hall of Famer™ program presented by Ford honors Hall of Fame heroes with a program and permanent plaque to honor the Hall of Famer's hometown support. Now in its 4th year, the US Army-Pro Football Hall of Fame Award for Excellence honors 20 high school students nationally for excellence in community service, academics and athletics. Construction on HOF Village, a $476 million development project, is under way in Canton to transform the Hall of Fame's campus.

For more information about the Pro Football Hall of Fame, please visit; @ProFootballHOF on Twitter, Facebook, Instagram, and YouTube.


View some of the best images from Brett Favre's days as a Viking on the heels of him being named a 2016 Pro Football HOF finalist.

This article has been reproduced in a new format and may be missing content or contain faulty links. Please use the Contact Us link in our site footer to report an issue.