Skip to main content

News | Minnesota Vikings –

Vikings Roster Refresher as 2016 Offseason Program Opens

EDEN PRAIRIE, Minn. — The Vikings have returned to Winter Park.

The defending NFC North Champions got back to work Monday as a mix of fresh and familiar faces began their journey to make another run at the postseason.

"I'm excited to get back to work and to get the players back in here," said Vikings Head Coach Mike Zimmer said last week. "I think we have a chance to have a good football team.

"We're going to have to get to work and prove that we belong again," he added. "Nothing is given in this league."

The Vikings brought in a handful of players via free agency and will add more April 28-30 during the 2016 NFL Draft.

Here's a quick refresher of who's on the roster (players listed in alphabetical order):

Quarterbacks: Teddy Bridgewater, Taylor Heinicke, Shaun Hill

No changes here as Bridgewater is the starter. The third-year quarterback threw for 3,231 yards and 14 touchdowns last season.

Running backs: Matt Asiata, Zach Line, Jerick McKinnon, Adrian Peterson, Blake Renaud

Peterson ran for 1,485 yards in 2015 to lead the NFL in rushing for the third time in his career. McKinnon showed progress as the season went on. Asiata and Line re-signed with the Vikings this offseason.

Tight ends: Rhett Ellison, Brian Leonhardt, MyCole Pruitt, Kyle Rudolph

Rudolph had a team-leading five touchdown catches in 2015. Pruitt could be primed for a bigger role while Ellison is coming off a knee injury. Leonhardt is a Minnesota native and signed as a free agent in the offseason.

Wide receivers: Stefon Diggs, Isaac Fruechte, Charles Johnson, Cordarrelle Patterson, Terrell Sinkfield, Adam Thielen, Jarius Wright

Diggs led the team in catches (52) and yards (720) as a rookie. Patterson led the NFL in kickoff return average. Sinkfield is the only fresh face. The Minnesota native recently played in the Canadian Football League.



Offensive linemen: Joe Berger, Alex Boone, Carter Bykowski, T.J. Clemmings, Nick Easton, Isame Faciane, Brandon Fusco, Mike Harris, Matt Kalil, Zac Kerin, Phil Loadholt, Austin Shepherd, Jeremiah Sirles, Andre Smith, John Sullivan

One of the deepest positions on the roster, there should be plenty of competition along the line. Kalil, Fusco, Berger, Harris and Clemmings return after starting every game in 2015. Loadholt and Sullivan are both looking to return after missing all of last year with injuries. Boone and Smith, meanwhile, were veterans added through free agency.



Defensive linemen: Scott Crichton, B.J. DuBose, Kenrick Ellis, Sharrif Floyd, Everson Griffen, Danielle Hunter, Toby Johnson, Tom Johnson, Linval Joseph, Zach Moore, Brian Robison, Shamar Stephen, Justin Trattou

Griffen is coming off a Pro Bowl season and has back-to-back seasons of double-digit sacks. Floyd, Joseph and Robison are stout against the run. Hunter was second among rookies with 6.0 sacks last season.


*Linebackers: Anthony Barr, Audie Cole, Chad Greenway, Eric Kendricks, Emmanuel Lamur, Travis Lewis, Edmond Robinson, Brandon Watts

Barr made his first Pro Bowl last season after racking up 80 total tackles and 3.5 sacks. Greenway will be back for his 11th season after he re-signed with the team earlier this month. Kendricks led the team in total tackles with 105. Lamur and Lewis inked deals as free agents.



Defensive backs: Antone Exum, Jr., Michael Griffin, Anthony Harris, John Lowdermilk, Captain Munnerlyn, Terence Newman, Jabari Price, Xavier Rhodes, Andrew Sendejo, Marcus Sherels, Harrison Smith, Trae Waynes, Melvin White

This unit features five former first-round picks in Griffin, Newman, Rhodes, Smith and Waynes. Griffin signed as a free agent after nine seasons in Tennessee. The 37-year-old Newman, who led the Vikings with three interceptions, will be the oldest defensive player in the NFL this season after re-signing this offseason. Sendejo and Sherels re-signed with the Vikings.

Special teamers: Jeff Locke, Kevin McDermott, Blair Walsh

Locke returns for his fourth season as Minnesota's punter. Walsh led the NFL with 34 field goals made last season. McDermott is entering his second season with the Vikings.

This article has been reproduced in a new format and may be missing content or contain faulty links. Please use the Contact Us link in our site footer to report an issue.