Skip to main content

News | Minnesota Vikings –

Vikings Legend David Dixon to be Inducted into Polynesian Football Hall of Fame 


The Polynesian Football Hall of Fame on Wednesday unveiled its Class of 2020, which includes Vikings Legend David Dixon.

Dixon, who is of Māori Ancestry, will be joined by former Chiefs linebacker Frank Manumaluega(Samoan); former Ravens, Lions and Eagles defensive tackle Haloti Ngata(Tongan) and former Lions center Dominic Raiola(Hawaiian).

"On behalf of our Board of Directors, we congratulate the Class of 2020," said Jesse Sapolu, Polynesian Football Hall of Fame Chairman, Co-Founder and Inductee. "Their accomplishments on and off the field make each of them truly worthy of this recognition."

Dixon originally was a ninth-round draft pick by the Patriots in 1992 and spent his first two NFL seasons on practice squads for New England, Minnesota and Dallas. He signed with the Vikings active roster in 1994 and went on to play 152 games (134 starts) for Minnesota.

The Inductees were selected from a field of more than 100 nominees by the Polynesian Football Hall of Fame Selection Committee, which includes former NFL Player and Inaugural Inductee Jack Thompson (Chairman), coaches Ron McBride and Dick Vermeil, past NFL player and Inaugural Inductee Olin Kreutz, past NFLPA President and Inaugural Inductee Kevin Mawae, former NFL Player and Class of 2015 Inductee Ray Schoenke, ESPN's Neil Everett, NFL Network writer and commentator Steve Wyche, and Honolulu sportscaster Robert Kekaula. In addition to the Selection Committee, all living Polynesian Football Hall of Fame Inductees cast a vote to select the Class of 2020.

The Class of 2020 will be honored during the Polynesian Football Hall of Fame Enshrinement Weekend (Jan. 18-19), which includes the Polynesian Bowl. The Polynesian High School, College and Professional Players of Year honorees will be announced later this year.

About the Polynesian Football Hall of Fame:The Polynesian Football Hall of Fame honors Polynesia's greatest players, coaches and contributors. Its permanent home is located at the Polynesian Cultural Center (O`ahu) and was established in 2013 by Super Bowl Champions Jesse Sapolu and Ma`a Tanuvasa. Other board members include Troy Polamalu, Vai Sikahema, June Jones and Reno