Skip to main content

News | Minnesota Vikings –

Patterson Selected To Pro Bowl

Vikings WR/KR Cordarrelle Patterson has been selected to participate in the 2014 NFL Pro Bowl on Sunday, January 26, 2014. Patterson, who has been named to the roster as a return specialist, replaces Antonio Brown of Pittsburgh, who was voted to the 2014 Pro Bowl roster at two different positions (wide receiver and return specialist). Because Brown received more Pro Bowl votes at the WR position, he will participate in the game as a receiver.

In his 1st year out of Tennessee, Patterson set the Vikings team record for kickoff return yards (1,393), kickoff return average (32.4) and tied the team record for kickoff return TDs (2), while leading the NFL in all 3 categories. This season, Patterson had 4 receiving TDs, 3 rushing TDs and 2 kickoff-return TDs. He is the only player in NFL history to accomplish the feat.

Patterson, who joins Adrian Peterson as Vikings selected to the 2014 Pro Bowl, was named the NFC Special Teams Player of the Week in Week 8 after setting the NFL record for longest kickoff return with a 109-yard TD against the Packers.

Patterson is the 6th Vikings rookie all-time to be selected to the Pro Bowl joining Chuck Foreman (1973), Randy Moss (1998), Adrian Peterson (2007), Blair Walsh (2012) and Matt Kalil (2012).

As you'd expect, Patterson was excited about the news as he expressed on Twitter:

Thanks to all the #flashyfans Vikings will be represented at 2014 ProBowl. My rookie year just got better! — cordarrelle (@ceeflashpee84) January 3, 2014


This article has been reproduced in a new format and may be missing content or contain faulty links. Please use the Contact Us link in our site footer to report an issue.