Skip to main content

News | Minnesota Vikings –

NFL Draft 23rd Pick History: Sharrif Floyd, Antoine Winfield, 3 HOF Players

EDEN PRAIRIE, Minn. — In just over a week, the Vikings are scheduled to be on the clock with the 23rd pick of the 2016 NFL Draft.

The Vikings currently have eight picks at their disposal, but the first-round selection likely will generate the most excitement.

The 23rd pick is a rare but recent memory for the Vikings, who have drafted in that spot twice in franchise history.

Minnesota had the same selection in 2013 when it took defensive tackle Sharrif Floyd out of the University of Florida.

Floyd has started 24 career games and has developed into a key piece for Head Coach Mike Zimmer's defense. The 24-year-old has 9.5 sacks and 121 total tackles (coaches' tally) in his first three seasons in the league.

The Vikings also had the 23rd pick back in 1965 when they nabbed wide receiver Lance Rentzel out of the University of Oklahoma.

Rentzel played two seasons with the Vikings, catching two passes for 10 yards. He was mainly used as a return specialist as he averaged 24.5 yards per kickoff return and took one back for a score. Rentzel later played four seasons for the Cowboys, leading the league in touchdown catches with 12 in 1969, and three seasons with the Rams (1971-72 and '74).

Some players selected at No. 23 fizzle out quickly in the NFL, but a trio of players selected at the spot — tight end Ozzie Newsome in 1978, punter Ray Guy in 1973 and linebacker Bill George in 1951 — have been enshrined in the Pro Football Hall of Fame.

Plenty of others such as cornerbacks Ty Law and Antoine Winfield, running backs Duece McAllister and Willis McGahee, offensive tackle Bruce Armstrong and defensive end Jim Jeffcoat went on to have highly productive careers. 

Winfield and linebacker Napoleon Harris (23rd overall by Oakland in 2002) later joined the Vikings. Winfield racked up 21 interceptions in starting 115 of the 119 games he played in nine seasons with the Vikings. Harris tallied three interceptions and 4.5 sacks in 22 starts with Minnesota (2005-06, '08).

Here's a look at the 10 most recent No. 23 picks and how they have fared in the NFL:

2015, Shane Ray, DE Denver

Ray appeared in 14 regular season games for the Super Bowl champions, tallying four sacks and 15 total tackles.

2014, Dee Ford, LB Kansas City

Ford has made five starts in two seasons and has 5.5 career sacks.

2013, Sharrif Floyd, DT Minnesota

Floyd has totaled 121 tackles (65 solo), 25.5 tackles for loss, 9.5 sacks, 70 quarterback hurries and six passes defensed in starting 24 of 43 games played.

2012, Riley Reiff, OT Detroit

Reiff has started 55 of 63 career games at left tackle for the Lions as the blindside protector for quarterback Matthew Stafford.

2011, Danny Watkins, G Philadelphia

Watkins started 12 games as a rookie before leaving the NFL after the 2013 season. He is now a firefighter.

2010, Bryan Bulaga, OT Green Bay

Bulaga has been a consistent presence along the Packers offensive line with 60 career starts.

2009, Michael Oher, OT Baltimore

Oher, a veteran of 107 career starts, began his career with the Ravens but played in Super Bowl 50 with Carolina last season.

2008, Rashard Mendenhall, RB Pittsburgh

Mendenhall rushed for 4,236 yards and 37 touchdowns over six seasons before retiring in 2014.

2007, Dwayne Bowe, WR Kansas City

Recently released by the Browns, Bowe had his best years with the Chiefs. He caught 44 touchdowns over eight seasons, including 15 in 2010. 

2006, Davin Joseph, G Tampa Bay

Joseph went to a pair of Pro Bowls with the Buccaneers in 2008 and 2011. He is currently not on an NFL roster.

In preparation for the 1970 merger between the NFL and AFL, the leagues agreed to start a common draft (rather than hold their own) in 1967. Following are players selected 23rd overall between 2005 and the first common draft.

2005, Fabian Washington, CB Oakland

2004, Marcus Tubbs, DT  Seattle

2003, Willis McGahee, RB Buffalo

2002, Napoleon Harris, LB Oakland

2001, Deuce McAllister, RB New Orleans

2000, Rashard Anderson, CB Carolina

1999, Antoine Winfield, CB Buffalo

1998, Mo Collins, G Oakland

1997, Antowain Smith, RB Buffalo

1996, Jeff Hartings, C Detroit

1995, Ty Law, CB New England

1994, Shante Carver, DE Dallas

1993, Deon Figures, CB Pittsburgh

1992, Chris Mims, DE San Diego

1991, Randal Hill, WR Miami

1990, Bern Brostek, C Los Angeles Rams

1989, David Williams, OT Houston

1988, Brad Muster, RB Chicago

1987, Bruce Armstrong, OT New England

1986, Mike Schad, G Los Angeles Rams

1985, Jessie Hester, WR Los Angeles Raiders

1984, Louis Lipps, WR Pittsburgh

1983, Jim Jeffcoat, DE Dallas

1982, Bob Crable, LB New York Jets

1981, Curt Marsh, G Oakland

1980, Roynell Young, CB Philadelphia

1979, Steve Fuller, QB Kansas City

1978, Ozzie Newsome, TE Cleveland

1977, Bob Brudzinski, LB Los Angeles Rams

1976, Mark Koncar, OT Green Bay

1975, Darryl Carlton, OT Miami

1974, Bill Kollar, DE Cincinnati

1973, Ray Guy, P Oakland

1972, Jeff Kinney, RB Kansas City

1971, William Anderson, DB San Francisco

1970, Duane Thomas, RB Dallas

1969, Jim Marsalis, CB Kansas City

1968, John Williams, OT Baltimore

196, Tom Regner, G Houston

This article has been reproduced in a new format and may be missing content or contain faulty links. Please use the Contact Us link in our site footer to report an issue.