Skip to main content

News | Minnesota Vikings –

Lunchbreak: Let Debate Begin — Lists Vikings All-Time 11 Best 

What if you could field a team with any 11 players from a franchise's history?'s
 Adam Rank recently had some fun and did just that, picking whom he
believes are each team's top 11 players since the founding of its
franchise. Rank did not restrict himself by position.

He released the NFC North slate Friday, listing the following Vikings Legends as his top selections (in no particular order):

RB Adrian Peterson (2007-16)

WR Randy Moss (1998-2004; 2010)

S Paul Krause (1968-79)

WR Cris Carter (1990-2001)

QB Fran Tarkenton (1961-66; '72-78)

DT Alan Page (1967-78)

DT John Randle (1990-2000)

DE Chris Doleman (1985-93; 1999)

DE Carl Eller (1964-78)

G Randall McDaniel (1988-99)

C Mick Tingelhoff (1962-78)

Coach: Bud Grant (1967-83; 1985)

Rank pointed out that four Super Bowl losses in the team's early
years still stings, but the talent of those rosters cannot be denied. He

I had a harder time with them than I thought, because
there is no shortage of good options. Just like there was no shortage of
 patrons at Matt's, waiting to try the Juicy Lucy during Super Bowl

Rank said he was "struck by how many great receivers the Vikings have had in their history."

 Moss might be the greatest of all-time. Cris Carter was also
exceptional. Ahmad Rashad was initially on my list, but I had to cut
him. Too many great Vikings defenders.

Speaking of the
defenders, Paul Krause was automatic. I met him at the Hall of Fame a
few years back, and I'm not sure we walked away as friends. But Krause
was legit. He is joined by Alan Page and Carl Eller, two more members
from the era of the Purple People Eaters. And there have still been
great defenders after the Eaters, including Chris Doleman and John

Newman heading to K-State Hall of Fame

A few weeks into his 16th NFL season and after celebrating his 40th birthday, Terence Newman will be added to the Kansas State Athletics Hall of Fame.

 his time at Kansas State University, Newman totaled 133 tackles, 10
interceptions and 32 passes defensed. He was a consensus All-America
selection and the first Kansas State player to win the Jim Thorpe Award
as the nation's top defensive back.

According to the K-State
Sports website, Newman is among nine individuals who will make up the
2018 class of inductees. He joins Christine Boucher (women's golf), Rita
 Graves (women's track and field), David Hall (men's basketball), Ed
Klimek (FB/MBB/BSB/TF), Margaret Thompson (honorary), F.I. Reynolds
(men's basketball), Mark Simoneau (football) and Max Urick

The class is the 12th in the history of the
K-State Athletics Hall of Fame, including the charter class of 1990, and
 will be honored during the weekend of September 27-29. Official
induction ceremonies will take place on Friday, September 28, before the
 inductees are recognized at halftime of the football game against Texas
 the following day.

The website quoted Kenny Lannou, Senior
Associate Athletics Director for Communications and K-State Athletics
Hall of Fame Chairperson:

"We are excited to announce this year's
 diverse group of nine individuals and welcome them into the K-State
Athletics Hall of Fame," Lannou said. "Each of these inductees has made a
 lasting impact on K-State Athletics and Kansas State University, and we
 look forward to welcoming them back to Manhattan this fall for a
special induction weekend."