Skip to main content

News | Minnesota Vikings –

Vikings Bring Back Everson Griffen & Andrew DePaola

DE Everson Griffen
DE Everson Griffen

EAGAN, Minn. — The Vikings have re-signed Everson Griffen and Andrew DePaola, the team announced Wednesday afternoon.

The announcement was made after Minnesota placed Irv Smith, Jr., Kene Nwangwu and Dan Chisena on Injured Reserve. Those three players made the initial 53-man roster that was announced Tuesday afternoon. If the Vikings had put those three players on Injured Reserve yesterday, they would have had to miss the entire season.

Minnesota waived Griffen and DePaola before setting the initial 53-man roster, but both were likely to be brought back this week.

The Vikings needed to include certain injured players on the initial 53-man roster to keep open the possibility of returning at some point in 2021.


DePaola joined the Vikings midway through the 2020 season and was efficient and reliable as the team's long snapper.

Griffen re-signed with Minnesota last week after spending 10 years in Purple from 2010-2019. He ranks seventh all-time in franchise history with 74.5 career sacks and will be counted upon to provide pass rushing depth this season.

View photos of the Vikings 53-man roster as of Jan. 5, 2022.