Skip to main content

News | Minnesota Vikings –

Eden Prairie's Montero Named 2017 Mr. Football


The Minnesota Football Coaches Association announced 11 finalists for 2017 Mr. Football, which was recently awarded to Eden Prairie's Antonio Montero.

Montero will serve as the Vikings Honorary Captain for Sunday's game against the Cincinnati Bengals at U.S. Bank Stadium.

Montero helped Eden Prairie defeat Minnetonka 38-17 in the Class 6A Championship on the day after Thanksgiving.

He had two tackles for loss at linebacker, as well as 15 carries for 60 yards with three touchdowns. Montero also caught two passes for 27 yards, was 5-for-5 on extra points and had a 42-yard field goal. Montero averaged 36 yards on two punts.

Daniel Huss of the Eden Prairie News *recently **featured Montero’s selection*** **as Mr. Football.


The finalists were:

Ronald Audette, Elk River

Ty Barron, Minnetonka

Michael Empting, Alexandria

Isaac Hennen, Minneota

Preston Jelen, Prior Lake

Owen King, Caledonia

Conner Knoepfle, Andover

Carter Kopet, Cleveland/Immanuel Lutheran

Antonio Montero, Eden Prairie

Spencer Rolland, Apple Valley

Brevyn Spann-Ford, St. Cloud Tech

All 11 finalists were also named to the 2017 Minnesota Vikings All-State Team.

This article has been reproduced in a new format and may be missing content or contain faulty links. Please use the Contact Us link in our site footer to report an issue.