Skip to main content

News | Minnesota Vikings –

Vikings Teammates Select Kyle Rudolph as 2017 Ed Block Courage Award Recipient

Eden Prairie, MN (January 4, 2018) – Vikings TE Kyle Rudolph has been selected as the club's 2017 Ed Block Courage Award recipient by his teammates. The seventh-year tight end earned the respect of his teammates and coaches with his dedication to helping young children at the University of Minnesota Masonic Children's hospital. The Notre Dame alum and team captain earned the Vikings Community Man of the Year award after opening Kyle Rudolph's End Zone, a place for patients to relax, spend times with friends and family, and escape the grind of the hospital. Rudolph was inspired to give back by his experience as a young child in children's hospitals while his brother fought and defeated neuroblastoma cancer. Along with the End Zone, Rudolph sponsors Holiday Huddles at the hospital and raised money for the hospital through his Draft Party, Lord Fletcher's Lake Bash, Champions for Children Golf Classic and Rudy's Red Eye. Rudolph is also active with the Starkey Hearing Foundation, MATTER, Second Harvest Heartland, American Cancer Society, James Beard Foundation and Athletes First Classic.

Since 1984 the Ed Block Courage Awards annually honors one player from every NFL team who exemplifies commitment to the principles of sportsmanship and courage. Recipients are selected by a vote of their teammates to recognize both on and off the field extra efforts and their ability to overcome great adversity, whether it be personal or professional. The Ed Block Courage Award is named in honor of Ed Block, the longtime head athletic trainer of the Baltimore Colts. Winners travel to Baltimore every March to receive their trophy at a gala in their honor and spend time at the local Courage House at St. Vincent's Center, a facility specializing in working with abused children. This visit, and the time spent with the children, allows each recipient to fully comprehend the true meaning of the award.

For more information on the Ed Block Courage Award Foundation, visit

View images of the ribbon cutting of Vikings tight end Kyle Rudolph's End Zone at the University of Minnesota's Masonic Children's Hospital.

Vikings Ed Block Courage Honorees

Vikings Ed Block Courage Honorees

Kyle Rudolph: 2017

Teddy Bridgewater: 2016

Phil Loadholt: 2015

Greg Jennings: 2014

Kevin Williams: 2013

Adrian Peterson: 2012

Anthony Herrera: 2011

Cedric Griffin: 2010

E.J. Henderson: 2009

Kenechi Udeze: 2008

Chad Greenway: 2007

Matt Birk: 2006

Koren Robinson: 2005

Corey Chavous: 2004

Eric Kelly: 2003

Lewis Kelly: 2002

Daunte Culpepper: 2001

Gary Anderson: 2000

Robert Griffith: 1999

Randall Cunningham: 1998

Robert Smith: 1997

Scottie Graham: 1996

John Randle: 1995

Cris Carter: 1994

Henry Thomas: 1993

Darrin Nelson: 1992

Terry Allen: 1991

Gary Zimmerman: 1990

Jim Gustafson: 1989

Leo Lewis: 1988

Scott Studwell: 1987

Walker Lee Ashley: 1986

Keith Nord: 1985

Steve Riley: 1984

This article has been reproduced in a new format and may be missing content or contain faulty links. Please use the Contact Us link in our site footer to report an issue.