News | Minnesota Vikings –

Presented by

Lunchbreak: Looking at Vikings Second-Round Draft Options

The Vikings currently are scheduled to make their first pick of the 2017 NFL Draft from the 48th overall spot.

With that in mind, Matthew Coller of took a look at who could be around for Minnesota to grab in the second round. Coller went based off of the first-round mock draft of ESPN's Todd McShay.

Coller said Michigan safety Jabrill Peppers could benefit from joining the Vikings defense.

There isn't a better situation in the league to develop than the Minnesota Vikings, with cornerback whisperer Mike Zimmer, experienced DBs coach Jerry Gray and veteran coach-on-the-field Trae Waynes. Zimmer has a knack for finding what players do best and putting them in a position to succeed. Sure, safety isn't a desperate need, but if the Vikings are ever going to make a deep playoff run, it'll be on the back of great defense. 

Coller also listed Temple offensive lineman Dion Dawkins as a potential fit with Minnesota.

What makes Dawkins intriguing is that he has the athleticism to play left tackle, which means he could develop and see fill-in action in his first year or two, then transition into a starter. That might not be the sexiest option with the 48th overall pick, but it might be the only one that has a chance of resulting in a long-term solution at tackle. If he doesn't make the transition to tackle, Dawkins showed he can also play guard.

Coller also mentioned Mississippi tight end Evan Engram, Michigan State defensive tackle Malik McDowell and Ohio State wide receiver/running back Curtis Samuel as players who could make an impact with the Vikings.

Former Vikings listed among state's best players

The NFL offseason is often a time for debates about various football topics.

Russell Baxter of FanSided got in on the mix, offering his take on the best NFL players from each state.

A handful of Vikings were included on his list.

Baxter listed guard Randall McDaniel as the best player from Arizona. The Hall of Famer played 12 seasons in Minnesota and started 202 consecutive games

Consider the consistency and the overall performance of the long-time Minnesota Vikings' guard. As a rookie, the 19th overall pick in the draft in the 1988 draft started 15 of 16 games that year. One season later, McDaniel opened in 13 of 14 contests and was named to the first of what would be 12 consecutive Pro Bowls. 

Former Vikings linebacker Matt Blair was listed as Hawaii's best NFL player. Blair also played 12 seasons with the Vikings and ranks second in team history with 1,452 career tackles.

The latter was not only a rangy defender and really made a name for himself on special teams. Born in the city of Hilo, he was a second-round pick by the Vikings in 1974 from Iowa State University. His impressive 12-year resume includes 16 interceptions, 20 fumble recoveries and a team-record 20 blocked kicks.

Michigan was represented by former Vikings safety Paul Krause, who is the NFL's all-time leader in interceptions with 81. He was inducted into the Pro Football Hall of Fame in 1998.

He waited his share of time getting an invitation to Canton, Ohio. But he certainly belongs there thanks to his ball-hawking accomplishments and football instincts.

Former Vikings center Mick Tingelhoff was named as the best player the state of Nebraska has produced. Tingelhoff made seven straight Pro Bowls and was elected to the Hall of Fame in 2015.

He first suited up in 1962 for the Vikings, the team's second year in the NFL. He would play and start every game for the franchise for 17 seasons. That's 240 regular-season outings and 240 starts. Try and put that in perspective when it comes to today's landscape of professional sports.

The final accolade went to defensive tackle Alan Page, who topped the list of Ohio players. Page had 148.5 career sacks and was the 15th pick in the 1967 draft.

How dominant was Page? In 1971, he was named the NFL's Most Valuable Player. It was the first time since the award was given out that a defensive player earned the honor (the Giants' Lawrence Taylor earned the award in 1986). Page was a member of all four Super Bowl teams.

A pair of former Vikings were named as honorable mentions for their state — Gary Larsen in North Dakota and Fran Tarkenton in Virginia.

Tight end Dave Casper, who was born in Bemidji and spent a small portion of his Hall of Fame career with the Vikings, was picked to represent Minnesota. Willow River native Ernie Nevers, a five-time All-Pro who also is in the Hall of Fame, was listed as Honorable Mention for the state.

Norm Van Brocklin, the first head coach in Vikings history, was named honorable mention for South Dakota for his accomplishments as a quarterback with the Rams and Eagles.

This article has been reproduced in a new format and may be missing content or contain faulty links. Please use the Contact Us link in our site footer to report an issue.