Skip to main content

News | Minnesota Vikings –

Justin Jefferson & Cameron Dantzler Named to PFWA All-Rookie Team

EAGAN, Minn. – Justin Jefferson and Cameron Dantzler can add some accolades to their rookie seasons.

The Vikings teammates were named to the Pro Football Writers of American (PFWA) All-Rookie Team, the PFWA announced Tuesday.

Drafted 22nd overall by the Vikings out of LSU, Jefferson more than impressed during his debut season. He made plays all over the field, racking up 88 catches for 1,400 yards (15.9 average) and seven touchdowns en route to breaking several records. Not only did he surpass Randy Moss' franchise mark for yards by a rookie (1,313), but Jefferson also broke Anquan Boldin's NFL rookie record (set in 2003 with 1,377).

Jefferson is the first Vikings receiver to be named to the PWFA All-Rookie Team since Stefon Diggs in 2015.

Dantzler, meanwhile, is the first Vikings cornerback to earn the honor since Dewayne Washington in 1994 and first defensive back since Harrison Smith in 2012.

Minnesota drafted Dantzler in the third round (89th overall), and the Mississippi State product immediately assumed a starting role in the Vikings young secondary.

Dantzler weathered multiple injuries during the first half of the season but made an impact over 11 games (10 starts). He steadily improved from week to week and finished his campaign with 46 tackles (press box stats), three tackles for loss, four passes defensed, a forced fumble and a fumble recovery. Dantzler also nabbed two interceptions, which led all Minnesota cornerbacks in 2020.

News of Jefferson and Dantzler being named to the All-Rookie Team came a day after Vikings running back Dalvin Cook earned his first career selection to the PFWA All-NFL Team and second straight selection to the All-NFC Team.

Chargers quarterback Justin Herbert was named PFWA's Offensive Rookie of the Year, and Washington defensive end Chase Young was named Defensive Rookie of the Year.




QB – Justin Herbert, Los Angeles Chargers

RB – James Robinson, Jacksonville Jaguars; Jonathan Taylor, Indianapolis Colts

WR – Chase Claypool, Pittsburgh Steelers; Justin Jefferson, Minnesota Vikings

TE – Harrison Bryant, Cleveland Browns

C – Lloyd Cushenberry III, Denver Broncos

G – Damien Lewis, Seattle Seahawks; Mike Onwenu, New England Patriots

T – Jedrick Wills, Jr., Cleveland Browns; Tristan Wirfs, Tampa Bay Buccaneers


DL – Derrick Brown, Carolina Panthers; Raekwon Davis, Miami Dolphins; Javon Kinlaw, San Francisco 49ers; Chase Young, Washington Football Team

LB – Kenneth Murray Jr., Los Angeles Chargers; Patrick Queen, Baltimore Ravens; Isaiah Simmons, Arizona Cardinals

CB – Cameron Dantzler, Minnesota Vikings; L'Jarius Sneed, Kansas City Chiefs

S – Jeremy Chinn, Carolina Panthers; Antoine Winfield, Jr., Tampa Bay Buccaneers

Special Teams

PK – Rodrigo Blankenship, Indianapolis Colts

P – Tommy Townsend, Kansas City Chiefs

KR – Isaiah Rodgers, Indianapolis Colts

PR – James Proche II, Baltimore Ravens

ST – Jordan Glasgow, Indianapolis Colts

ABOUT THE PFWA: In its 57th season in 2020, the Professional Football Writers of America (PFWA) is the official voice of pro football writers, promoting and fighting for access to NFL personnel to best serve the public. The PFWA is made up of accredited writers who cover the NFL and the 32 teams daily. Bob Glauber, the national football columnist for Newsday, is the organization's president for the 2018-20 seasons and the organization's 29th president. Lindsay Jones (The Athletic) is the PFWA's first vice-president, Dan Pompei (The Athletic) is the PFWA's second vice-president and Mike Sando (The Athletic) is the PFWA secretary-treasurer. At-large members include Jeff Legwold (, Charean Williams (, Jenny Vrentas (Sports Illustrated) and Mike Jones (USA TODAY). Follow the PFWA at and on Twitter at @PFWAwriters.