Skip to main content

News | Minnesota Vikings –

Justin Jefferson, Andrew DePaola & Kene Nwangwu Named to All-Pro Teams

EAGAN, Minn. — Three Vikings have been recognized as All-Pros for their 2022 seasons.

Wide receiver Justin Jefferson and long snapper Andrew DePaola were announced to the First-Team All-Pro Team by The Associated Press Friday.

Return specialist Kene Nwangwu received Second-Team honors.

This marks the first time Jefferson has been named to the First Team, after receiving Second-Team honors in his first two seasons.

"It would mean a lot. Just to be recognized as one of the top in the league," Jefferson told media members Thursday. "It would definitely mean something to me to get First [Team] this time."

It is the first All-Pro recognition for DePaola and Nwangwu.

Jefferson and tight end Jason Kelce were the only two players who received unanimous votes, according to ESPN's Field Yates.

Jefferson was joined by Dolphins receiver Tyreek Hill and Raiders receiver Davante Adams.

The Vikings wideout ended the 2022 regular season leading the NFL in receptions (128), receiving yards (1,809) and receiving yards per game (106.4).

In Week 12 against New England, Jefferson passed former Viking Randy Moss (4,163) for most receiving yards through a player's first three seasons. In Week 14 at Detroit, Jefferson hauled in 11 catches for a career-high 223 yards to break Sammy White's franchise regular-season record for receiving yards in a game.

Jefferson sent Randy Moss' single-season receiving record, accomplishing the feat against the Giants on Christmas Eve. Later that same game, he passed Cris Carter (122) for most receptions in a season.

He also set the NFL records for most receptions (324) and most receiving yards (4,825) in a player's first three seasons.

DePaola earned First-Team All-Pro honors after also receiving his first career Pro Bowl nod.

The long snapper has helped kicker Greg Joseph make five game-winning field goals this season, a new single-season franchise record. He's also assisted rookie punter Ryan Wright in posting the 10th-best net punting average (42.5) this season.

DePaola, or “Sir Po,” as nicknamed by Vikings Special Teams Coordinator Matt Daniels, has recorded 17 tackles in 106 career games.

Vikings Head Coach Kevin O'Connell commended Jefferson, DePaola and Nwangwu on the accomplishment. He also commented on the supportive response from teammates, particularly upon the announcement of DePaola."[I let] the team know when we broke down the huddle [and] Justin Jefferson definitely received a strong round of applause, but I think that was probably expected. But when I said 'Andrew DePaola' ... [there tends to be] much more energy and enthusiasm for that than anything I say, I can tell you that much," O'Connell said, laughing. "As I told him, he's adding to the trophy case this year, which is really cool and well-deserved."

Nwangwu recorded his third career kickoff return touchdown this season, running one back 97 yards against the Patriots on Thanksgiving.

He ranked second in the league in total kickoff return yards with 920, trailing only Green Bay's Keisean Nixon (1,009), and his 26.3-yard average ranks ninth.

Kirk Cousins, Justin Jefferson, Za'Darius Smith, T.J. Hockenson, Andrew DePaola, Dalvin Cook and Danielle Hunter are representing the Vikings at the 2023 Pro Bowl Games.

All-Pro First Team


Quarterback — Patrick Mahomes, Kansas City

Running Back — Josh Jacobs, Las Vegas

Tight End — Travis Kelce, Kansas City

Wide Receivers — Justin Jefferson, Minnesota; Tyreek Hill, Miami; Davante Adams, Las Vegas

Left Tackle — Trent Williams, San Francisco

Right Tackle — Lane Johnson, Philadelphia

Left Guard — Joel Bitonio, Cleveland

Right Guard — Zack Martin, Dallas

Center — Jason Kelce, Philadelphia


Edge Rushers — Nick Bosa, San Francisco; Micah Parsons, Dallas

Interior Linemen — Chris Jones, Kansas City; Quinnen Williams, New York Jets

Linebackers — Fred Warner, San Francisco; Roquan Smith, Baltimore; Matt Milano, Buffalo

Cornerbacks — Sauce Gardner, New York Jets; Patrick Surtain II, Denver

Safeties — Minkah Fitzpatrick, Pittsburgh; Talanoa Hufanga, San Francisco


Placekicker — Daniel Carlson, Las Vegas

Punter — Tommy Townsend, Kansas City

Kick Returner — Keisean Nixon, Green Bay

Punt Returner — Marcus Jones, New England

Special Teamer — Jeremy Reaves, Washington

Long Snapper — Andrew DePaola, Minnesota

All-Pro Second Team

View photos of WR Justin Jefferson, QB Kirk Cousins, OLB Za'Darius Smith, LS Andrew DePaola and TE T.J. Hockenson reacting to being selected to the 2023 Pro Bowl Games.


Quarterback — Jalen Hurts, Philadelphia

Running Back — Nick Chubb, Cleveland

Tight End — George Kittle, San Francisco

Wide Receivers — A.J. Brown, Philadelphia; Stefon Diggs, Buffalo; CeeDee Lamb, Dallas

Left Tackle — Andrew Thomas, New York Giants

Right Tackle — Tristan Wirfs, Tampa Bay

Left Guard — Joe Thuney, Kansas City

Right Guard — Chris Lindstrom, Atlanta

Center — Creed Humphrey, Kansas City


Edge Rushers — Myles Garrett, Cleveland; Haason Reddick, Philadelphia

Interior Linemen — Dexter Lawrence, New York Giants; Jeffrey Simmons, Tennessee

Linebackers — Bobby Wagner, Los Angeles Rams; C.J. Mosley, New York Knicks; Demario Davis, New Orleans

Cornerbacks — Jaire Alexander, Green Bay; James Bradberry, Philadelphia

Safeties — Derwin James, Los Angeles Chargers; Justin Simmons, Denver


Placekicker — Justin Tucker, Baltimore

Punter — Ryan Stonehouse, Tennessee

Kick Returner — Kene Nwangwu, Minnesota

Punt Returner — Kalif Raymond, Detroit

Special Teamer — George Odum, San Francisco

Long Snapper — Nick Moore, Baltimore