Skip to main content

News | Minnesota Vikings –

Anthony Barr Selected for Vikings 2021 Ed Block Courage Award

LB Anthony Barr
LB Anthony Barr

EAGAN, Minn. — Vikings linebacker Anthony Barr has been selected as Minnesota's 2021 Ed Block Courage Award recipient.

The award was created in honor of the former head athletic trainer of the Baltimore Colts to annually recognize one player from every NFL team who exemplifies commitments to sportsmanship and courage.

Recipients are selected for their ability to overcome adversity on and off the field while making positive community impacts through service.

The announcement of Barr's selection occurred three weeks after he was named as the Vikings Community Man of the Year and the team's nominee for the 2021 Walter Payton NFL Man of the Year. An investor in dreams, Barr has made a tremendous impact through his Raise the Barr foundation.

Barr underwent extensive rehab after suffering a torn pectoral muscle against the Indianapolis Colts in Week 2 of the 2020 season.

As he was preparing to return for his eighth pro season, Barr dealt with a knee injury during Vikings training camp, which required him to miss the first four games of 2021.

The multiyear captain who has relayed calls from the sideline for the entirety of his career has made a significant impact on the Vikings defense this season. He's totaled 53 tackles, three interceptions, five passes defended, two fumble recoveries and one-half sack. Barr recorded the first multi-interception game of his career on Sunday against the Rams, picking off Matthew Stafford twice.

Vikings LB Anthony Barr received a surprise when he walked onto the concourse at TCO Performance Center and saw family members and teammate, Eric Kendricks, as they named him the 2021 Vikings Community Man of the Year.

Barr also worked through a hamstring injury he suffered in Week 12 at San Francisco to return to the lineup in Week 14 against Pittsburgh.

The four-time Pro Bowler has started all 96 regular-season games he's played, as well as five playoff contests, since his selection as the No. 9 overall pick of 2014. The drafting of Barr — as the first player picked during Head Coach Mike Zimmer's tenure — made him the second-highest-drafted linebacker in team history behind Chris Doleman (No. 4 in 1985). Doleman shifted to defensive end early during his Hall of Fame career.

View photos of Vikings LB Anthony Barr through the years participating in community events. Barr is the Vikings 2021 Walter Payton Man of the Year nominee.

Raise the Barr, which was co-founded by the linebacker and his mother Lori, has supported single-parent students earn advanced degrees since 2016 through scholarships and other services.

Barr also has been a vital member of the Minnesota Vikings Social Justice Committee, leading player-driven efforts to create valuable dialogue and meaningful changes in the community by building unity, hope and positive relationships to eliminate racism and advance social justice.


Vikings Ed Block Courage Award Winners

1984 Steve Riley

1985 Keith Nord

1986 Walker Lee Ashley

1987 Scott Studwell

1988 Leo Lewis

1989 Jim Gustafson

1990 Gary Zimmerman

1991 Terry Allen

1992 Darrin Nelson

1993 Henry Thomas

1994 Cris Carter

1995 John Randle

1996 Scottie Graham

1997 Robert Smith

1998 Randall Cunningham

1999 Robert Griffith

2000 Gary Anderson

2001 Daunte Culpepper

2002 Lewis Kelly

2003 Eric Kelly

2004 Corey Chavous

2005 Koren Robinson

2006 Matt Birk

2007 Chad Greenway

2008 Kenechi Udeze

2009 E.J. Henderson

2010 Cedric Griffin

2011 Anthony Herrera

2012 Adrian Peterson

2013 Kevin Williams

2014 Greg Jennings

2015 Phil Loadholt

2016 Teddy Bridgewater

2017 Kyle Rudolph

2018 Everson Griffen

2019 Linval Joseph

2020 Cam Smith

2021 Anthony Barr