Skip to main content

News | Minnesota Vikings –

Vikings Sign 6 Players to Futures Contracts


EAGAN, Minn. — The Vikings on Monday announced they have signed six players from their 2022 practice squad to futures contracts.

The following players signed a day after Minnesota's season ended in the Wild Card Round of the NFC Playoffs:

Receiver Trishton Jackson

Receiver Blake Proehl

Cornerback Tay Gowan

Tight end Nick Muse

Outside linebacker Benton Whitley

Center Josh Sokol

Gowan was elevated for three games in 2022, helping out for 15 total special teams snaps against Dallas, New England and at Detroit.

Muse appeared in 10 games, totaling 108 special teams snaps.

Jackson, Proehl, Whitley and Sokol are yet to make their debut in a regular-season or postseason game.

Proehl was recently selected as the team's winner of the Ed Block Courage Award for how he worked his way back from a leg injury suffered during 2021 training camp.

UPDATE: The Vikings on Jan. 20 announced they have signed defensive lineman T.J. Smith to a future contract.

The 6-foot-3, 300-pound Smith spent 2022 on Minnesota's practice squad. He was elevated in Week 17 and recorded four tackles (one for loss) at Green Bay in his lone game appearance of the season. Smith also spent time on Minnesota's practice squad in 2021 and was elevated for one game at San Francisco in which he recorded three tackles.