Skip to main content

News | Minnesota Vikings –

Zimmer, Vikings PR Staff Nominated for PFWA Awards

Vikings Head Coach Mike Zimmer has been nominated for the George Halas Award by the Pro Football Writers of America, the PFWA announced on Tuesday.

The Halas Award is presented annually to the NFL player, coach or staff member who "overcomes the most adversity to succeed."

Zimmer previously won the Halas Award in 2009 when he persevered through the tragic death of his wife, Vikki, and helped the Bengals win the AFC North as Cincinnati's defensive coordinator.

This time, he was nominated after leading the Vikings to their second NFC North title in four seasons under Zimmer. Minnesota finished with a 13-3 mark and advanced to the NFC Championship Game for the first time since the 2009 season.

The PFWA noted that Zimmer overcame multiple surgeries on his eye to overcome a detached retina. The problem was first diagnosed in November 2016. After an eighth procedure, Zimmer forced himself to take time away from the team during its 2017 offseason program and heal. He stayed connected by watching practices on a tablet computer and by texting assistants and players.

The PFWA also nominated Chargers receiver Keenan Allen, Eagles quarterback Nick Foles, 49ers receiver Marquise Goodwin and Giants newly signed tackle Nate Solder for the Halas Award, which will be announced on June 13.

Additionally, the PFWA announced that the Vikings Public Relations Staff has been nominated for the Pete Rozelle Award, which is presented annually to the staff that "consistently strives for excellence in its dealings and relationships with the media."

The PFWA wrote in a release: 

Under longtime executive director Bob Hagan, who heads an impressive staff of Tom West, Jeff Anderson, Jon Ekstrom and Sam Newton, the Vikings excelled in helping Twin Cities and national media cover the club. They received strong support from reporters who cover the team.

The Vikings, Dolphins, Rams, Broncos and Bills are the five nominees for this year's Rozelle Award, which will be announced on June 18.

Click here to see the full list of award nominees.

PFWA Awards Announcement Schedule:

Tuesday, June 12: Dick McCann Award
Wednesday, June 13: George Halas Award
Thursday, June 14: Good Guy Award
Friday, June 15: Jack Horrigan Award
Monday, June 18: Pete Rozelle Award
Tuesday, June 19: Paul "Dr. Z" Zimmerman Award

This article has been reproduced in a new format and may be missing content or contain faulty links. Please use the Contact Us link in our site footer to report an issue.