Skip to main content

News | Minnesota Vikings –

Vikings Announce Dennis Green as 2018 Ring of Honor Inductee

Eagan, MN (June 18, 2018) – The Minnesota Vikings will induct former head coach Dennis Greenin the club's Ring of Honor in 2018. Vikings Owner/Chairman Zygi Wilf, Owner/President Mark Wilf and Owner/Vice Chairman Lenny Wilf, along with National Football League Commissioner Roger Goodell, informed Marie Green, the spouse of the late Dennis Green, of the honor at the team's
headquarters on Friday, June 15. Green will be inducted into the Ring of Honor during a halftime ceremony at the Vikings game against the Buffalo Bills on Sunday, September 23, at U.S. Bank Stadium.

"Dennis Green's impact on the Minnesota Vikings, and really the entire NFL, is still felt to this day," said Mark Wilf. "In addition to being widely regarded as one of the NFL's top coaches, Denny was also known as a great mentor and leader by all who had the fortune of being in his presence. We're extremely honored to forever memorialize Denny
and his family in the Vikings Ring of Honor and we're looking forward to the induction in September."

Green, who was one of the most influential figures in the history of the franchise, was named the fifth head coach of the Minnesota Vikings on January 10, 1992, a post he held through 2001. Green coached 171 total games in 10 seasons with the
Vikings, leading the team to four Central Division titles, the NFC Championship game twice and a 101-70-0 (.591) overall record, giving him the second-most wins in franchise history behind only Bud Grant (168).
In 1998, Green's Vikings boasted one of the best offenses in NFL history as the team set the NFL single-season scoring record at 556 points, averaging 34.8 points per game. In eight of the 10 seasons under Green's guidance, the Vikings earned playoff berths. The Harrisburg, Pennsylvania native was named NFL Coach of the Year in 1992 by the 

Washington Touchdown Club and in 1998 by Sports Illustrated and the Maxwell Club. An advocate of community involvement, Green initiated Community Tuesdays, which had players active in the Twin Cities on their day off, a concept that spread to the entire NFL.

Green is the lone inductee in 2018 after the team inducted two wide receivers – Randy Moss and Ahmad Rashad – in 2017. The addition of Green will bring the Vikings Ring of Honor to 24 members. Current members include: Fran Tarkenton, Alan Page, Jim Finks, Bud Grant, Paul Krause, Fred Zamberletti, Jim Marshall, Ron Yary, Korey Stringer, Mick Tingelhoff, Carl Eller, Cris Carter, Bill Brown, Jerry Burns, Randall McDaniel, Chuck Foreman, John Randle, Scott Studwell, Chris Doleman, Matt Blair, Joey Browner, Ahmad Rashad and Randy Moss.