Skip to main content

News | Minnesota Vikings –

Presented by

Lunchbreak: Pro Football Focus Includes Jordan Addison in 'Year of Rookie Receiver'  

EAGAN, Minn. – Vikings rookie wide receiver Jordan Addison ended his first NFL season in the same way he started it — with a touchdown.

Addison scored his first career touchdown in Week 1 against the Buccaneers. Seventeen weeks later, he caught his 10th touchdown pass in the Vikings regular-season finale at Detroit. The 42-yard score tied Addison with the Packers receiver Jayden Reed and Lions tight end Sam LaPorta for the most receiving touchdowns among rookie pass catchers, bookending an explosive debut season.

Selected 23rd overall last April, Addison finished with more yards and touchdowns than each of the three receivers selected before him (Jaxon Smith-Njigba, Quentin Johnston and Zay Flowers).

Pro Football Focus declared the 2023 season the "The Year of the Rookie Wide Receiver." On Addison, PFF wrote:

*Addison, selected with the [23rd] overall pick, was more boom-or-bust due to the Vikings' revolving door at quarterback and Justin Jefferson's midseason injury, but his production remained impressive. Twice he earned an 84.0-plus game grade — both outings in which he went over 100 yards and scored twice — and he collected seven touchdowns by Week 8. *

PFF's article includes historical breakdowns of 10 rookie pass catchers, including Addison, LaPorta and Rams Pro Bowler Puka Nacua.

Click here to read Pro Football Focus' full story.

3 former Vikings in 2024 College Football Hall of Fame Class

Vikings Legends Randy Moss and Steve Hutchinson already made it to the Pro Football Hall of Fame.

Now, they'll be added to the College Football Hall of Fame.

The National Football Foundation this week announced its Class of 2024, which will be inducted at the 66th NFF Annual Awards Dinner in Las Vegas on Dec. 10, 2024.

Toby Gerhart, who overlapped with Moss (2010) and Hutchinson (2010-11) in Minnesota after starring at Stanford, also is part of the Class of 2024.

All three were unanimous First-Team All-Americans, just like fellow Class of 2024 inductee and Minneapolis native Larry Fitzgerald.

2024 College Football Hall of Fame Class


Justin Blackmon – WR, Oklahoma State (2009-11)

Paul Cameron – TB, UCLA (1951-53)

Tim Couch – QB, Kentucky (1996-98)

Warrick Dunn – RB, Florida State (1993-96)

Armanti Edwards – QB, Appalachian State (2006-09)

Deon Figures – CB, Colorado (1988, 1990-92)

Larry Fitzgerald – WR, Pittsburgh (2002-03)

Toby Gerhart – RB, Stanford (2006-09)

Dan Hampton – DT, Arkansas (1975-78)

Steve Hutchinson – G, Michigan (1997-2000)

Antonio Langham – CB, Alabama (1990-93)

Randy Moss – WR, Marshall (1996-97)

Julius Peppers – DE, North Carolina (1999-2001)

Paul Posluszny – LB, Penn State (2003-06)

Dewey Selmon – NG, Oklahoma (1972-75)

Alex Smith – QB, Utah (2002-04)

Kevin Smith – CB, Texas A&M (1988-91)

Chris Ward – T, Ohio State (1974-77)

Danny Woodhead – RB, Chadron State [NE] (2004-07)


Mark Dantonio – 132-74-0 (64.1 win percentage): Cincinnati (2004-06), Michigan State (2007-19)

Danny Hale – 213-69-1 (75.4 win percentage): West Chester [PA] (1984-88), Bloomsburg [PA] (1993-2012)

Frank Solich – 173-101-0 (63.1 win percentage): Nebraska (1998-2003), Ohio (2005-2020)