Skip to main content

News | Minnesota Vikings –

Newman Nominated for NFL Sportsmanship Award

Trae Waynes has been chosen as the Minnesota Vikings 2016 nominee for the NFL's third-annual Art Rooney Sportsmanship Award, the league and team announced on Tuesday.

The award was created to recognize players around the league who exemplify outstanding sportsmanship on the field and honor the late founding owner of the Pittsburgh Steelers and Pro Football Hall of Famer Art Rooney, Sr.

The winner of the NFL Sportsmanship Award is determined by a vote of current NFL players. A panel of former players from the NFL Legends Community will select eight finalists (four in the AFC and four in the NFC) from the 32 nominees. The panel is comprised of Warrick Dunn, Curtis Martin, Karl Mecklenburg and Leonard Wheeler, who spent one season in Minnesota.

Newman, a first-round pick of Dallas in 2003, is in his 14th pro season and second in Minnesota. He is the active leader with 41 career interceptions and well-respected by teammates and opponents.

The eight finalists will be voted on by NFL teams on Dec. 16 when players also cast their votes for the Pro Bowl. Teams are not allowed to vote for their own players for the sportsmanship award or on Pro Bowl ballots.

Charles Woodson was recognized in 2015, and Minneapolis native Larry Fitzgerald was named the inaugural winner of the award in 2014.

The winner of the 2016 Art Rooney Sportsmanship Award will be announced during the nationally televised NFL Honors show on Saturday, Feb. 4 on FOX, the night before Super Bowl LI. He will receive a $25,000 donation from the NFL Foundation to a charity of his choice. He will also receive a trophy that represents the important role that sportsmanship plays in the game and how NFL players that demonstrate integrity and honor on the field serve as role models for players at all levels. 

Here are the 2016 Art Rooney Sportsmanship Award Nominees: 

Arizona Cardinals: DT Calais Campbell

Atlanta Falcons: FB Patrick DiMarco

Baltimore Ravens: G Marshall Yanda

Buffalo Bills: DT Kyle Williams

Carolina Panthers: TE Greg Olsen

Chicago Bears: LB Sam Acho

Cincinnati Bengals: WR A.J. Green

Cleveland Browns: T Joe Thomas

Dallas Cowboys: CB Brandon Carr

Denver Broncos: LB DeMarcus Ware

Detroit Lions: S Glover Quin

Green Bay Packers: LB Julius Peppers

Houston Texans: LB Brian Cushing

Indianapolis Colts: RB Frank Gore

Jacksonville Jaguars: LB Paul Posluszny

Kansas City Chiefs: DB Derrick Johnson

Los Angeles Rams: DE Robert Quinn

Miami Dolphins: T Branden Albert

Minnesota Vikings: CB Terence Newman

New England Patriots: S Devin McCourty

New Orleans Saints: T Zach Strief

New York Giants: WR Victor Cruz

New York Jets: WR Brandon Marshall

Oakland Raiders: QB Derek Carr

Philadelphia Eagles: RB Darren Sproles

Pittsburgh Steelers: LB Arthur Moats

San Diego Chargers: QB Philip Rivers

San Francisco 49ers: T Joe Staley

Seattle Seahawks: WR Tyler Lockett

Tampa Bay Buccaneers: DT Gerald McCoy

Tennessee Titans: QB Marcus Mariota

Washington Redskins: QB Kirk Cousins

This article has been reproduced in a new format and may be missing content or contain faulty links. Please use the Contact Us link in our site footer to report an issue.