Skip to main content

News | Minnesota Vikings –

Brian O'Neill Selected for Vikings 2023 Ed Block Courage Award


EAGAN, Minn. — Vikings right tackle Brian O'Neill has been selected as Minnesota's 2023 Ed Block Courage Award recipient.

The award was created in honor of the former head athletic trainer of the Baltimore Colts, and it annually recognizes one player from every NFL team who exemplifies commitments to sportsmanship and courage.

Recipients are selected for their ability to overcome adversity on and off the field while making positive community impacts through service.

O'Neill certainly fits the bill for Minnesota. 

The 2018 second-round pick has been a Vikings starter since getting thrown into the fire as a rookie, and he'd stayed relatively healthy throughout his first five seasons. But in Week 17 of the 2022 season, O'Neill suffered a ruptured Achilles tendon at Green Bay that sidelined him for the Vikings regular-season finale at Chicago and Wild Card game against the Giants, as well as most of the offseason.


O'Neill returned in a limited capacity for the team's night practice during Vikings Training Camp, and he made a full return to practice on Aug. 23.

"I'm really proud of Brian and everything he's done – his whole progression, his patience, his professionalism," Vikings Head Coach Kevin O'Connell.

O'Neill, who served as a team captain in 2023 for the third consecutive season, started all 14 games he's played in this season, missing Weeks 15 (Bengals) and 16 (Bears) with an ankle injury. He's been on the field for 883 offensive snaps.


Vikings Ed Block Courage Award Winners

1984 Steve Riley

1985 Keith Nord

1986 Walker Lee Ashley

1987 Scott Studwell

1988 Leo Lewis

1989 Jim Gustafson

1990 Gary Zimmerman

1991 Terry Allen

1992 Darrin Nelson

1993 Henry Thomas

1994 Cris Carter

1995 John Randle

1996 Scottie Graham

1997 Robert Smith

1998 Randall Cunningham

1999 Robert Griffith


2000 Gary Anderson

2001 Daunte Culpepper

2002 Lewis Kelly

2003 Eric Kelly

2004 Corey Chavous

2005 Koren Robinson

2006 Matt Birk

2007 Chad Greenway

2008 Kenechi Udeze

2009 E.J. Henderson


2010 Cedric Griffin

2011 Anthony Herrera

2012 Adrian Peterson

2013 Kevin Williams

2014 Greg Jennings

2015 Phil Loadholt

2016 Teddy Bridgewater

2017 Kyle Rudolph

2018 Everson Griffen

2019 Linval Joseph

2020 Cam Smith

2021 Anthony Barr

2022 Blake Proehl

2023 Brian O'Neill