Skip to main content

News | Minnesota Vikings –

4 Norsemen: Vikings Name Captains for 2015


EDEN PRAIRIE, Minn. — The Vikings have designated four season-long captains for the 2015 season: quarterback Teddy Bridgewater, running back Adrian Peterson, defensive end Everson Griffen and linebacker Chad Greenway.

The group, which was selected by teammates, is a blend of an emerging talent in his second-year, a returning superstar, a player who made the most of his first opportunity to start in 2014 and a venerable veteran who has been a mainstay of the Vikings defense for nine previous seasons.

Bridgewater has shown comfort with the leadership expectations that accompany the sport's toughest position and peaked down the stretch of his first season in which he set or tied 91 franchise records for a rookie quarterback. Bridgewater was selected as the team's Offensive Player of the Year and Rookie of the Year in 2014.

Peterson is back for his ninth pro season after a year away. The running back is quite the pace setter in workouts and is hungry to build on his franchise leading 10,190 career rushing yards.

"It really means a lot," Peterson said. "It goes to show how the players look up to you and respect you, and then the coaches have confidence in you."

Griffen was named the team's Defensive Player of the Year after leading the Vikings with career highs of 12 sacks, 21 tackles for loss and 70 quarterback hurries in his fifth overall season but first as a starting defensive end.

Greenway is entering his 10th season with the team and was named Community Man of the Year by the Vikings, as well as the winner of the Byron "Whizzer" White Award. He battled through multiple injuries in 2014, yet still finished second on the team with 115 total tackles (coaches tally).

"It's a huge honor," Greenway said. "It's something I'm proud of. I've tried to lead my entire career every day, being consistent and being a guy that people can look to, to know that I'm studying hard and learning the game, but also physically out there working hard and leading by example.

"I think teammates picked four great examples of that for captains, and I'm proud to be one of them," Greenway added.

The Vikings last had season-long captains from 2008-2010. They were: Ryan Longwell, Steve Hutchinson, E.J. Henderson and Kevin Williams in each of those seasons. Brett Favre was added for 2009-10.

View images of the Vikings 2015 captains: Teddy Bridgewater, Chad Greenway, Everson Griffen and Adrian Peterson.

This article has been reproduced in a new format and may be missing content or contain faulty links. Please use the Contact Us link in our site footer to report an issue.