Skip to main content

News | Minnesota Vikings –

Presented by

Lunchbreak: Pro Football Focus Predicts Justin Jefferson to Break Grading Record

EAGAN, Minn. — Vikings wide receiver Justin Jefferson could break another record this season.

Pro Football Focus predicted eight records that will be broken this year based on the analytics site's grading system. Jefferson was pegged to eclipse the PFF receiving grade of 93.4 set by Julio Jones in 2016. Each Pro Football grade ranges on a scale from 0 to 100.

On Jefferson, PFF wrote:

Receivers who can separate from coverage downfield are at a premium, and none have proven more difficult to cover than Jefferson.

In the PFF era, no receiver has had a better start to a career than Jefferson, who earned a 90.0-plus grade in each of his first three campaigns. The only other receivers to ever earn three straight 90.0-plus marks at any point in their career are Julio Jones (2015-19), Davante Adams (2020-22) and Michael Thomas (2017-19). That's elite company.

In 2016, Jones finished second in receiving yards with 1,409. The prior season, his 1,871 yards led the league. Jones set the PFF receiving grade record in his sixth NFL season. Jefferson is entering his fourth as pro.

If Jefferson earns a 93.5 grade or higher, then he'll join former Vikings edge rusher Jared Allen on PFF's all-time single season record list. However, PFF pegged 49ers' defensive end Nick Bosa to break Allen's PFF sacks mark (Note: PFF counts half-sacks as full sacks, departing from NFL standards for calculation, and has Allen with 24 in 2011).

Click here to read PFF's full breakdown.

Senior Bowl names 75th Anniversary Team Finalists

The Senior Bowl Selection Committee has named six Vikings players as finalists for the all-star game's 75th anniversary team. Kirk Cousins, Jim Kleinsasser, Jake Reed, Randall McDaniel, Kevin Williams and Harrison Smith are nominated.

Fans can visit to vote. Ballots were released on Monday. Fans are asked to vote for players at all positions to make the 75th anniversary team.

The players selected to the 75th anniversary team will be honored on Feb. 3 in Mobile, Alabama.