News | Minnesota Vikings –

Vikings Named Presenting Sponsor of 2014 "Minnesota Football Honors" Awards Event

For the second consecutive year, the Minnesota Vikings will serve as the presenting sponsor for the Minnesota Chapter of the National Football Foundation's annual awards dinner. The event, which is in its seventh year and its first year under the title "Minnesota Football Honors," recognizes outstanding individuals throughout all levels of the Minnesota football community, including legendary figures and the state's top scholar athletes. Open to the public, this year's event will take place on Sunday, May 4, at the Hilton Minneapolis, beginning with a 5:00 p.m. social followed by the dinner/program at 6:00 p.m. Tickets are available for purchase at

As part of the ceremony, the Vikings will present 2013 team awards for Offensive (Adrian Peterson), Defensive (Chad Greenway) and Special Teams Players of the Year (Cordarrelle Patterson), as well as the team's Rookie of the Year (TBA) and the Community Man of the Year (John Sullivan).

Along with the Vikings team honors, the following awards will be presented:

Bob Stein College Scholar-Athlete Award – J.D. Mehlhorn

Bobby Bell Impact Player of the Year Award – Ra'Shede Hageman

Courage Award – Peter Westerhaus

Distinguished Minnesotan Award – Tom Moe

Fred Zamberletti Award – Chuck Barta

John Gagliardi Football Legacy Award – George Wemeier

Murray Warmath Legendary Team Award – 1964 Concordia-Moorhead Cobbers

Outstanding Cheerleader Award – Christina Gekas Taylor

Sid Hartman Media Award – Michele Tafoya

High School Scholar Athletes:

  • Andrew Blake (Pine City)
  • Brett Brenden (Rothsay)
  • Bronson Bruneau (Lakeville North)
  • Jack Dummer (Edina)
  • Tobias Knight (Minneapolis Washburn)
  • Josh Sitarz (Totino-Grace)
  • Michael Strand (Barnesville)
  • Austin Swenson (Spring Lake Park)

For complete details on each of the award winners, visit

This article has been reproduced in a new format and may be missing content or contain faulty links. Please use the Contact Us link in our site footer to report an issue.