News | Minnesota Vikings –

Vikings Announce Team Award Winners

Adrian Peterson, Chad Greenway and Cordarrelle Patterson were named the Offensive, Defensive and Special Teams Players of the Year for the Vikings, the club announced today.

Patterson, who was the 29th overall pick in last April's draft, led the NFL in kick return average at 32.4 which was the fourth highest average in the NFL since the 1970 merger. He also broke the Vikings' team-record with 1,393 kick return yards in a single-season which was previously held by Buster Rhymes from the 1985 season. Patterson also became the first wide receiver in team history with three rushing scores in a single-season, and his 50-yard touchdown run versus Detroit in week 17 was the longest scoring run by a wide receiver in team history. He wrapped up his rookie season with nine total touchdowns (four receiving, three rushing and two kick return scores). Last week he was named to his first career Pro Bowl and also named the Associated Press' First Team All-Pro kick returner.

It comes as no surprise that Peterson was named the Offensive Player of the Year. Even though his numbers were down from his record-breaking 2012 season where he came up just a few years shy of the NFL's single-season rushing record. This season, Peterson battled injuries for the vast majority of the year but still managed to finish fifth in the NFL in rushing with 1,266 yards, and was second in yards per game at 90.4. His ten rushing touchdowns was good for fourth in the NFL. Peterson was named an AP's Second Team All-Pro last week.

On defense, Chad Greenway led the Vikings in tackles for the sixth straight season, tying a club record set by Scott Studwell from 1980 to 1985. Greenway, a 2012 Pro Bowler, finished with 134 total tackles, 3.0 sacks and tied a career high with three interceptions.

This article has been reproduced in a new format and may be missing content or contain faulty links. Please use the Contact Us link in our site footer to report an issue.