Greenway, Patterson Presented Team Awards at Minnesota Football Honors

Posted May 5, 2014

The Minnesota Vikings awarded their team individual honors at the seventh annual Minnesota Football Honors banquet Sunday, May 4. Linebacker Chad Greenway (Defensive Player of the Year) and wide receiver/return specialist Cordarrelle Patterson (Rookie and Special Teams Player of the Year) were in attendance to accept their awards. Center John Sullivan and Adrian Peterson were also selected as Community Man of the Year and Offensive Player of the Year, respectively, but were unable to attend the event.

Vikings General Manager Rick Spielman and Head Coach Mike Zimmer were among many members of the Vikings organization representing the club at the event. Spielman and Zimmer addressed the audience and spoke about the offseason, upcoming NFL Draft and extended an invite to Peter Westerhaus, former Golden Gophers linebacker and the 2014 Courage Award Winner, to attend an upcoming minicamp as a guest.

Westerhaus, who was named Minnesota’s Mr. Football as a senior at Holy Family High School in 2010, had his football playing career ended by ulcerative colitis after being diagnosed during the Gophers 2011 fall camp.

For the second consecutive year, the Minnesota Vikings served as the presenting sponsor for the Minnesota Chapter of the National Football Foundation’s annual awards dinner. The event, which was in its first under the title “Minnesota Football Honors,” recognizes outstanding individuals throughout all levels of the Minnesota football community, including legendary figures and the state’s top scholar athletes.

Along with the Vikings team honors, the following awards were presented:

Bob Stein College Scholar-Athlete Award – J.D. Mehlhorn

Bobby Bell Impact Player of the Year Award – Ra’Shede Hageman

Courage Award – Peter Westerhaus

Distinguished Minnesotan Award – Tom Moe

Fred Zamberletti Award – Chuck Barta

John Gagliardi Football Legacy Award – George Wemeier

Murray Warmath Legendary Team Award – 1964 Concordia-Moorhead Cobbers

Outstanding Cheerleader Award – Christina Gekas Taylor

Sid Hartman Media Award – Michele Tafoya

High School Scholar Athletes:

  • Andrew Blake (Pine City)
  • Brett Brenden (Rothsay)
  • Bronson Bruneau (Lakeville North)
  • Jack Dummer (Edina)
  • Tobias Knight (Minneapolis Washburn)
  • Josh Sitarz (Totino-Grace)
  • Michael Strand (Barnesville)
  • Austin Swenson (Spring Lake Park)