Eight Vikings Named To The 2010 Pro Bowl

Posted Dec 29, 2009

The NFL has announced that 8 Vikings have earned Pro Bowl honors. Since 2006, the Vikings have had 13 different players recognized with 25 Pro Bowl honors. The Vikings 8 selections are the most since the 1998 Vikings landed 10 players. Vikings earning starting roles in the Pro Bowl are DE Jared Allen, G Steve Hutchinson, T Bryant McKinnie, RB Adrian Peterson and DT Kevin Williams. Joining the 5 starters are backups QB Brett Favre, WR Sidney Rice and special teamer Heath Farwell. McKinnie, Rice and Farwell are all 1st-time Pro Bowlers. Of the 8 players, 4 were drafted by the Vikings, 2 were acquired as veteran free agents, 1 by trade and 1 as a rookie free agent.

Allen leads the Vikings in sacks with 13.5 and is closing in on his career-best 15.5 set in 2007. The honor is Allen’s 3rd straight Pro Bowl of his career and 2nd in a row with the Vikings. The last Vikings DE to go to consecutive Pro Bowls was Chris Doleman in 1989 and 1990.

Hutchinson is making his 7th straight Pro Bowl berth and has blocked for a 1,000-yard rusher in all 9 of his NFL seasons. Hutchinson will be an NFC starter for the 5th straight season.

Making his Pro Bowl debut, McKinnie has enjoyed the best season of his 8-year career. The mammoth LT has started 117 straight games, including playoffs, since stepping into the lineup as a rookie in 2002. McKinnie has not missed a game due to injury and his 117 straight starts are 3rd-most by a Vikings OT in team history. The last G/T tandem on a side of the Vikings line to earn Pro Bowl honors was in 1998 when LG Randall McDaniel and LT Todd Steussie were recognized. 

Williams gained his 5th Pro Bowl honor in his 7 NFL seasons, ranking behind only Alan Page (9) and John Randle (8) for Pro Bowls by a DT in Vikings history.

Peterson returns to the Pro Bowl and joins only Chuck Foreman in team history as RBs who earned Pro Bowl honors in their opening 3 seasons in the league. Peterson set a new Vikings record with 17 rushing TDs in a season and is tied for the 2nd-most total TDs in a season in team history.

Favre was selected to his 11th Pro Bowl of his 19-year NFL career and his 3rd straight selection with 3 different teams- Green Bay 2007, NY Jets 2008 and Minnesota 2009. Favre passes Hall of Famer Johnny Unitas with his 11th Pro Bowl selection, the most by a QB in NFL history.

Rice had a breakout season in 2009, leading the team with 77 receptions and 1,200 yards along with 6 TDs. Rice is only the 5th Vikings WR to post 1,200 receiving yards in a season- joining Anthony Carter, Cris Carter, Jake Reed and Randy Moss.

Farwell successfully returned from season-ending knee surgery that cost him all of the 2008 season to earn Pro Bowl honors for the 1st time in his career and he becomes the 1st Viking to be selected as a special teamer since Joey Browner in 1985.

The Pro Bowl will be played on January 31 at Dolphin Stadium in South Florida.


PLAYER               POS.         PRO BOWL SEASONS
Brett Favre            QB             1992#, 1993#, 1995#, 1996#, 1997#, 2001#, 2002#, 2003#, 2007#, 2008 , 2009
Steve Hutchinson G               2003*, 2004*, 2005*, 2006, 2007, 2008, 2009
Kevin Williams      DT             2004, 2006, 2007, 2008, 2009
Adrian Peterson    RB             2007, 2008, 2009
Jared Allen            DE             2007^, 2008, 2009
Heath Farwell        Spec Tms 2009
Bryant McKinnie   T                2009
Sidney Rice          WR            2009

 #- Green Bay Packers
- NY Jets
*-Seattle Seahawks
^-Kansas City Chiefs